Today, people are getting greedy and selfish. Some people argue that we should go back the old days and show respect for the family and community, so that we can make the world a better place to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some debatable ideas heating an argument over the fact that humans tend to have a more self-centred and snobbish lifestyle. Some people assume that retracing these old days when people pay respect for others is an optimal method to enhance life quality. From my point of view, I consider myself an advocate of this statement. It is undeniable that in the past families could bring more tremendous benefits for members than in this day and age. In fact, when they have to encounter an urgent problem, relatives are always the first one who is willing to lend a hand and help immediately, especially regarding sentimental value. To be more specific, despite being unable to financially support, beloved members can provide prompt encouragement to boost the confidence of those who are in trouble to confront the problems. In contrast, in this digital age, people prefer to live and work independently for their own benefits and rarely pay attention to others. By doing so, the gap between either generation or each person is expanded and the family solidarity is broken down. Hence, reviving the bygone attitudes towards family is necessary. Moreover, it seems that the community is getting more and more insecure as human beings are more selfish. So greedy are citizens for the time being that they may engage in illegal activities for their own profit expansion. For instance, businessmen earn handsome incomes from producing disqualified products and inducing customers to make impulsive purchases. Nevertheless, they refuse to plough back a fraction of their revenues to assist people in need. Therefore, bringing back the old days when people work in a harmonized environment can facilitate residents’ lives. To sum up, it is indisputable that current society, in which people are greedy and arrogant, consists of a wealth of issues ranging family attachment subsidising and low safety, thus, reconstructing the concept of family and community like what people in the previous generation used to do can be a remedy for a better life.