Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a neccessary part of growing up, whilst others see it as something negative. Discuss your both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that adolescence can be a difficult period for youngsters and their parents. Although some people believe that conflict at this time does harm more than good, I would argue that it is an essential stage of teenagers development. On the one hand, those who believe teenage conflict is harmful might argue that it can damage relationships between parents and their children. This is because such disputes can create tension in the family. For example, it is quite common for young people to begin smoking to impress their peers, but their confrontations with parents can lead to difficulties with communication afterwards. In contrast, if there is no conflict between parents and teenagers, there will be a much greater sense of happiness among family members. On the other hand, my view is that this conflict is important because it can help children to mature. The reason for this is that by having disagreements adolescents can form and develop their own opinions. For instance, a child may grow up in a family of meat-eaters but feel very strongly about not eating meat. if this child does not voice their opinion, they will be going against their principles. However they are going to engage in conflict with their parents, their conscience will be much clearer despite the agony of the argument. In conclusion, despite the danger of demanding relationships that teenage conflict can create, it is my firm belief that this time of friction is a vital step for children to mature and become independently-minded adults.