Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is argued that a contest between children can inspire them while contradictory sides are sure collaboration is more beneficial for developing. In my opinion, youngsters should be taught how to work with each other, and this essay will discuss both points of view before coming to a reasoned conclusion. It is well known that typically children tend to compare themselves to others and, as a result, it may lead to competition between peers, because they usually want to be superior. On the one hand, young people can be motivated by that and become much more diligent in studying and leisure activities. However, for some youth people especially adolescents and teenagers in their tender and sensitive ages the competition might have the opposite effect when people can lose their confidence, beliefs in themselves and motivation to develop. Teaching children how to collaborate with each other, to be a part of a team probably have more bright sides for their future. Communicating might improve life skills as solving problems, decision-making, empathy, etc. which are crucially important for an average adult. For example, a recent survey among students of secondary schools in Britain showed that pupils who have had team activities in their educational program were more successful in studying and had the highest marks compared to students with a conventional program. In conclusion, although there are some advantages of competition between children for their motivation in developing, this approach is not useful for every child while the teaching of collaboration and team working is definitely more favourable for prospects in the adulthood.