In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In our developed world, the majority of people claim that the elderly generation creates problems for authorities, while others think that the ageing population should be beneficial for the public. Taking into account the contribution they made and impact of their stimulation on the youngsters, I hold the view that the ageing population brings more good than harm. First of all, the influence on the youth, both tangible and intangible, is an evident benefit for society. Moreover, experience and knowledge may be passed from old people to young people directly, ensuring there is no scientific and technological gap between generations. For instance, the youth might easily obtain information about a particular field merely by asking for assistance from elderly people. In addition, encouraging the old once tackle social problems would result in their welfare when they retire. In other words, they may struggle to solve problems related to their field in order to enjoy wealth in the years of their retirement. Secondly, some people may be concerned about the financial aid that the government provides for the ageing population. However, throughout their life, the elderly generation pay taxes in order to cover their financial needs during the time of their unemployment. Furthermore, the rise of the ageing population also brings financial advantages. As an illustration, there is a range of companies that produce a variety of disease predictions as well as devices for health monitoring in order to gain a considerable amount of profit by selling them to elders. Hence, elderly people should not be regarded as a burden to society since they play a major role in the economy. In conclusion, the ageing population play a significant role in both educational and financial purposes, stimulating them to dedicate themselves to solving social problems and enjoy their retirement one day. They deserve careful treatment from the whole society.