In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Since humanity has entered the digital era, communications technologies have made possible remote work for particular kinds of professions. These new capabilities have brought serious changes to our work and lifestyle patterns. This essay will discover pros and cons of such development. On the one hand, getting rid of commuting gives extra free time that can be used for longer sleeping, self-learning or other personal activities. Moreover, staying at home can drastically reduce expenses for transport, food and sometimes for renting expensive apartments in close proximity to office. For example, during last pandemic year New York real estate market has fallen because lot of dwellers have relocated from apartments in prestige downtown areas to the chipper and larger accommodations on outskirts of the city. On the over hand, people who started to work distantly, faced huge downsides of it. First of all, it became quite difficult to keep personal and professional life separate. Flexible hours turned into endless working day with vogue time boundaries. Secondly, lack of face-to-face communications has affected productiveness significantly. Zoom or Teams applications could barely help to build tight and trustfull relations between team members and business partners. For instance, online interviewing of candidates without meeting them in person makes impossible to reveal their real personality fully. To conclude, remote job has advantages and disadvantages and lots of factors shape our attitude to this innovation. My personal view corresponds to the results of surveys which found out the fact that the majority of employees feel happier and come to be more productive.