As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Businesses have always sought to make a profit, but it is becoming increasingly common to hear people talk about the social obligations that companies have. I entirely agree with the idea that businesses should do more for society than simply make money. On the one hand, I accept that businesses must make money in order to survive in a competitive world. Apparently, it seems logical that the priority of any company should be to cover its running costs, such as employees’ wages, rent and other payments for utilities. On top of these costs, firms also need extra funds to invest in innovations and improvements if they wish to remain successful. If a company is unable to pay its bills or meet the changing demands of consumers, any concerns about social responsibilities become irrelevant and unrealistic. In other words, a company can only make a positive contribution to society if it has a supportive financial system. On the other hand, companies should not be run with the sole aim of maximizing profit; they have a wider role to play in today’s society. Firstly, one social obligation that owners and managers have is to treat their employees well, rather than exploiting them. For example, they could pay a “living wage” to ensure that workers have a good quality of life. Alternatively, businesses could use a proportion of their profits to support local charities, environmental projects or education initiatives. Finally, instead of trying to minimize their tax payments by using accounting loopholes, I strongly believe that company bosses should be happy to contribute to society through the tax system. In conclusion, I believe that companies should place as much importance on their social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives.