Developments on science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The improvement of advanced technology inevitably leads to environmental deterioration. In order to tackle this problem, some people think that we should simplify our lifestyles, while others still believe that science and technology are viable. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument together and give the reason why I am for the latter opinion. Admittedly, for some people, simpler lives would mitigate the negative effects of the environment. They may think that taking less beef, for instance, can reduce a large amount of consumption of electricity and water; driving less frequently on cars can also decrease the emissions of carbon footprints and improve the air condition at the same time. Even though it might bring people more inconveniences in life, which I personally think it is sort of unrealistic, it is the best way for them to save our planet. Therefore, this group of people ideally believe that living simply can help us to release the environmental issue pressure. Nevertheless, like most of the other groups, I would also argue that with the help of science and technology, the environment can be actually better protected. In recent years, as everybody knows, environmental-friendly techniques have been developed, such as electric trains. Rather than burning fossil fuels, this kind of vehicle is totally run by electricity. Besides, thanks to the invention of mobile phones, people can solve the communication problem simply by dialling instead of driving to meet face to face. In this way, tons of harmful fumes can be reduced without sacrificing life conveniences. Consequently, instead of getting rid of those techniques, we could make better use out of them to help us to save the planet earth. In conclusion, although simplifying lifestyles can alleviate the problem to some extent, I strongly believe that environmental conservation will be more effective by technical promotion.