In some countries it is mandatory that children learn multiple practical skills alongside formal knowledge in their general education, while in others it is optional for students to choose whether to take these classes so they are not distracted from their main curriculum. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Children ’s development and education has always been at the forefront of society. Personally, despite focusing only on specialized subjects help children to reach their goals, learning a wide range of practical skills serves as a basis for an adult. Limiting subjects can allow for greater focus. It is not uncommon for many children to choose one musical instrument or participate in a single sport from the beginning of grade school. The rationale is that more time spent in one domain inevitably leads to mastery and this is supported by research into the importance of practice for elite performers. There are many famous examples of individuals who focused on a single curriculum and found success such as The Beatles’ band members with music and Steve Jobs with computer technology. Fewer subjects are therefore one way to safeguard a child’s future. Nonetheless, for the majority of individuals, a wide range of knowledge and interests is a better predictor of future success. Studies have overwhelmingly shown that several skills make room for increased creativity and extracurriculum extra-curriculum. The average high school student must study obviously useful subjects such as math and science but also pick up their own electives such as art or music. They may never become professional musicians but opening up that side of their brain can help them be more creative in other fields and feel their education is well-solidified. Without the exposure to extra subjects, children might feel uncompleted and lack of social interactions later on. In conclusion, taking a range of subjects shows better outcomes. Children should find themselves extra social skills alongside formal knowledge in order to balance out their development.