Today more and more tourists are visiting places where the conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or The Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In today's modern world, everyone desires to visit inhabitable places of the Earth in order to experience harsh conditions of nature. Now, this could be either out of curiosity or for some research projects, but it surely is trending a lot nowadays. Some laud that this trend is disadvantageous as its impacting our environment adversely, whilst some believe that it might lead to some remarkable discoveries. This essay will elucidate both the views hereinbelow. First and foremost, the Earth is full of unexplored places and expeditions to places like the Sahara desert or The Antarctic might bring out some unique findings. For instance, a few years back a group of travellers who were on their trip to Antarctica discovered a new species of penguins by accidentally capturing it in their camera, which later went viral. Admittedly, problems such as littering and pollution are major downfalls, however, these problems are not insurmountable and can be resolved by proper rules of the governing state. In contrast, the averred inhabited places are home to various flora and fauna which might get affected due to promotion of tourists there. For example, rattlesnakes are one of the prime predators in the Saharan desert, however, they are hunted as a leisure activity for visitors. Consequently, their population is decreasing exponentially. Therefore, the preservation of these species is paramount for the conservation of our environment as they form a vital part of our ecosystem. Adverting to both the above views, it can be concluded that promotion of travelling to averred places with difficult conditions can be a good idea, provided it does not have an adverse impact on our environment. Not only will it lead to astonishing discoveries, but might also carve a new way for the preservation of unexplored species in said places.