In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely believed that printed newspapers and books will become outdated in the future since the process of digitalisation has already placed a plethora of popular magazines and books online. In this essay I will examine why the printed versions of articles or researches will never be fully replaced by online materials, and why modern tabloids allow reading certain news only to those who have a subscription. The XXI century is marked with the Fourth Industrial Revolution which aims to place the majority of our daily activities online. Indeed, significant progress has already been made in this sphere and we have an opportunity to find almost everything necessary on the Internet. For example, the American newspaper New York Times is one of the most popular tabloids in the world which manages its website and also publishes an abundance of printed articles every day. One can say that there is no need to buy a paper variant of the New York Times, however, a careful reader knows that the online version of a newspaper does not provide a comprehensive overview of what is happening in the world. Bearing this in mind, a printed version is far more preferable to an online one since without a subscription it is impossible to access exclusive materials. On the other hand, online versions of modern newspapers have a highly developed level of partnership which gives their supporters a chance to view limited editions of the news. The Estonian newspaper Postimees, for instance, provides elaborated insights into Estonian domestic politics that could pose an interest not only to the citizens of the State but also to those scholars who study the post-Soviet development of the Baltics. That is why the majority of current tabloids tend to sell specific materials by the means of a subscription policy. In conclusion, I do believe that printed versions of articles or books will not be fully replaced by their online analogies. On the contrary, a number of news companies will proceed with their subscription offers since it grants them a new market of money-raising that will significantly benefit not only them, but everyone involved.