Most british people believe they enjoy and have the right to free speech. How important is it to have the right to say or write whatever you wish in society?

The majority of British society thinks they are allowed to have freedom of expression and love to do it. In this essay, I will explain the importance to have a right to free speech and writing anytime one's desires. The ability to express our opinion and speak freely is essential to bring change in society. Reinforces all other human rights, allowing society to develop and progress. For example our rights today wouldn't be achieved without the liberty to talk and write. Its importance clearly has been seen throughout history because it has been used to fight for change. To illustrate it; in the past women weren't allowed to wate, were banned from using birth control pills and couldn't work while being pregnant. Their involvement in higher education, decision-making positions and leadership roles was unimportant, as a result, they were discriminated against, dominated by males and put into house wife's roles. Thanks to the liberation of speech over the last few decades women made tremendous advances in their careers, rights and personal lives. People who oppose free speech are only afraid that what they believe may not be the truth. Banning people from saying what they wish makes them try harder to be heard. For instance, in many,countries speech restriction resulted in demonstrations, wars or even public executions. Allowing people to express their own views and opinions may reinforce peace in the world. However many people believe that the best way to make a better world is to pretend certain people from expressing their opinions. Negative influence can be observed in a social platform such as: media, Facebook, Instagram where everyone can say what it wants. As a result, it may cause many people emotional pain, low self-esteem and withdrawal from social life. In conclusion, although free speech may have a negative influence on people, I believe it's crucial to bring changes and a positive impact. Thanks to free speech society can have a better life.