Students from disadvantaged families and rural areas are finding it difficult to get a university education in many countries. Some people believe that universities and authorities should help them so that they can get a university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Being able to receive proper education is considered as a human right, including in Indonesia, however, there are still many children, especially from disadvantaged families and areas away from the city who do not have access to education. Therefore, I strongly agree that universities and authorities must lend a helping hand to this population. First, families in rural areas tend to lack resources, this includes lack of communication devices and transportation. Not only does this affect the amount of effort they have to put in, but it is also considered unfair, as students from the cities can simply take the bus and train to go to school. An example of this is when I went volunteering on the outskirts of Jakarta, and I saw mothers carrying their children across a river just to go to school. In addition to the lack of resources, this also means that economically, they are at a disadvantage. For most of them, paying for lunch and breakfast is already a huge burden as they do not receive a lot of income. Adding to that, education fees are very expensive these days. Thus, it is almost impossible for them to pay fully all the tuition payments without any help from external parties. In conclusion, external parties such as authorities, governments, and universities, should help students in difficult situations, just because everyone deserves to receive a proper education, whatever their background is.