Nations should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some countries invest millions of dollars in their tertiary education systems, I am positive that they should put more effort into setting up vocational schools throughout their countries. Establishing a vocational education system will increase the country's employment rate and at the same time, reduce poverty across the nation. Equipping people with skills to go into the workforce helps in bringing up the employment rate. People could pick up a new skill in a shorter time compared to earning a 3-year university degree and thus, they can start working quickly. Additionally, it is through experience that people learn and improve. While higher education usually teaches students with theories, it does not give them the industrial experience that they need to immediately start working after graduation. Countries that allow people to opt for vocational education have a lower population of impoverished families. The key reason for education is to enable people to earn money. Skills training centres let people quickly learn the skills that are necessary to go into the workforce and start earning a salary. If more people have the opportunity to go this route instead of a degree, they can start supporting their families monthly. For example, a lot of people in my country cannot afford to go to university and as a result, they end up working as blue-collar workers and they earn less than ten dollars per day. In conclusion, government officials should consider establishing more vocational schools that allow people of all ages and different financial backgrounds to attend to increase the country's employment rate, as well as bring down poverty. This will definitely contribute to the nation's growth.