Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In our contemporary world, global governments are making efforts to deal with numerous serious problems, including uncontrolled population growth and wildlife extinction. However, there are some arguments that resources should be distributed into population issues in priority, rather than spent on wildlife conservation. From my perspective, I disagree with this statement because there are still possible solutions to allocate resources reasonably to address both the animal and population issues. It is undoubtedly that the conservation of endangered species is of great importance. Firstly, the red list of endangered species increases every year, which means that if wildlife extinction continues, there will be an ecological imbalance. This will affect humans’ survival in undesirable ways. For instance, if the practice of whaling is not prevented, the marine ecosystem will be changed significantly. Thus, it exerts an adverse impact on other aquatic species, on which many communities depend for a living. Secondly, if wild animals’ habitats such as rainforests and wetlands are seriously destroyed, the occurrence of climate change may be worsened and then natural disasters may appear more frequently. The maintenance of wildlife species is not only to protect them but also to benefit communities. Ecotourism should be encouraged to develop by local governments in order to generate revenue and eliminate poaching. In addition, it also creates more job vacancies in local areas, decreasing the rate of unemployment. Therefore, by adopting intelligent strategies, both humans and wildlife issues can be resolved thoroughly. To recapitulate, I disagree with the viewpoint in the statement. By spending governments’ resources on wildlife conservation appropriately, I believe that the population problem would also get benefit from it.