With the widespread use of the Internet, more people choose to work or study from home. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has made our lives easier, faster and more comfortable. Consequently, it is not unusual for some people to work or study from home. As far as the lifestyle and the cost are concerned, I personally think it is a positive development, although it always needs strong self-discipline ability and sometimes they may feel lonely. Working or studying from home can benefit employees and students by saving time and money on transport. As getting rid of commuting time and the annoying transport congestions, people could have more time to concentrate on their daily tasks. For instance, it is difficult to conceive that students do some English listening on a noisy bus in the morning when they have the most energy, but now, studying from home enables students to make the most of the mornings’ moments. Another benefit of working or studying from home is that it is conducive for people to have healthy lifestyles. Most employees and students have to get up early to catch the subway or school bus. If they want to prolong their sleeping time, they will usually sacrifice their breakfasts. By comparison, they could eat breakfasts regular to lift their profile and these small lifestyle changes could make a huge difference in the long run. The downside of working or studying from home is that your working efficiency is dramatically related to one’s self-control ability. Individuals who have poor self-discipline ability usually tap into low work efficiency. Simultaneously, spending too much time working at home can make employees feel isolated and distance learning students do not have face-to-face interaction with their classmates which may make students feel lonely. In conclusion, I believe that working or studying from home has a beneficial effect on employees and students although it needs strong self-discipline ability and may cause lonely emotions.