Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are the most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are more successful. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Some argue that success is achieved by building fortunes, others think it is measured by the amount of social benefit that a person provides. As far as I am concerned, I see that success definition differs from one person to another, and does not have a measuring unit. As long as an individual has self-satisfaction and likes what he does then he is successful. This essay will discuss how both ways of thinking can lead to success. On the one hand, individuals who target making money in their life and achieving this goal are considered extremely successful for numerous reasons. Firstly, as long as the money comes from a legal source, these people ought to be contributing to (not for) the well being of humankind in one way or another. Because, in order to make money, one should have made beneficial investments in other companies which serves the community, or have his own unique business which serves the community as well. Without newly innovative businesses, people would not have any technological advancements or reach the easy life that we live nowadays. On the other hand, being a scientist or a teacher, in other words, working for the benefit of the society by contributing to raising newly educated generations or adding value to certain scientific fields, will also lead to success. Which is using this science for the benefit of nations by opening more startups which in turn offer employment opportunities for educated students. The same thing could have been done if the person ’s target was to make money. To conclude, whether an individual succeded in being a lucrative person or a scientist then he is called a successful person. Since the only difference is that one opinion thinks from an economical point of view while the other thinks from a scientific point of view. So defining success is relative to each person depending on his futuristic goals.