In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

With a gradual change in people's lifestyle, nowadays, significant changes in their food habits can be observed. Individuals prefer junk food over a healthy diet. That is why it has long been a subject of discussion whether it is important for any country's government to increase the tax on junk food items to save people from health issues or not. I partially agree with the former notion, and this essay will discuss why, using pertinent arguments. There are several arguments in support of the context that a raise in taxes is essential to discourage the sale of these kinds of items, and the most conspicuous one lies in the fact that the dishes served at any fast food restaurant are way cheaper than any health food. In Australia, for instance, Mcdonalds, the fast- food giant, is the cheapest place to eat from. In simple words, these ready-made meals are cheaper, and if the government starts to impose more taxes, it will result in an increase in the price of these products. Hence, individuals will start to think more while spending on this sort of stuff. Imposing higher taxes can only help to reduce the consumption of these edibles if affordability is the only reason for consumerism. There are many other factors, such as instant availability, taste, advertisements. Hence, it is apparent, significant changes cannot be brought only by controlling the prices of these products. People should be motivated to adopt a healthy lifestyle, including eating homemade food. Therefore, the governments should put more emphasis on motivating people, rather than wasting their time on making new policies to impose higher taxes. Finally, it can be concluded that with the increase in the number of people, who are suffering from health issues due to eating fast food, it is necessary for governments to take preventative steps. However, only increasing the prices cannot stop people to consume them, consequently, the agencies should come forward with more suitable approaches to address this issue.