In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new houses. Some people think that people can choose to build houses in their own styles instead of building them the same as the old house style in local areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that national and local authorities in some cities around the world fail to introduce restrictions on planning. While this allows great freedom of choice for property developers and individual homeowners, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh such benefits. On the one hand, uncontrolled construction of housing and offices encourages investment in a city. If there are few planning regulations to adhere to, investors are more likely to speculate on increasing the housing stock, often using the most cost-effective designs. With more available housing, there should be fewer people living on the streets. In terms of the construction of office buildings, without controls on the provision of high-rise buildings, a huge amount of space can be made available for companies to locate in a particular city. This might potentially increase employment opportunities in the area. On the other hand, there are major drawbacks when urban development is unplanned in this way. Firstly, urban sprawl is encouraged, and this is an undesirable feature of many modern cities. In some US cities, for example, sprawling suburbs have sprung up while at the same time slum areas and sink estates have been allowed to decay in the inner city areas. Secondly, when individuals can put up buildings to any design which they want, the result is that the city simply becomes an eyesore. Buildings may simply not blend in with each other. For instance, towering skyscrapers may be constructed next to famous landmarks, completely overshadowing them. In conclusion, I would argue that the unplanned growth of cities has produced both ugliness and chaos. Such drawbacks greatly outweigh any benefits.