In many countries today, crime novels and TV dramas (detective stories ) are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular. What is your opinion of crime fiction TV dramas.

Nowadays, novels and television shows related to criminality have been flourishing than ever before in a large number of countries as the outbreak of the entertainment industry. In this essay, I will explain elaborately the reason why people all over the world prefer watching such kinds of fiction and films and give my point of view regarding this topic. There are a variety of factors for viewers to be interested in reading or watching crime writings or television dramas. First and foremost, such television shows and books meet the demand of audiences who have fascination and curiosity with solving criminal mysteries. In this modern world today, citizens must follow numerous strict laws and regulations, hence they are extremely curious about how crimes are plotted and solved or some insight into killer’s psychology, etc. By watching movies about criminals, viewers have an opportunity to put themselves in the shoes of a detective and try to solve mysteries with given clues. Second of all, some books and dramas are based on real-life events, thus audiences are able to gain more tips to increase their chance of survival when they find themselves in such dangerous situations. Women, for instance, are more likely to be victims of crimes such as revenge, jealousy, or rape, they can protect themselves and their families by the knowledge that they learned in television dramas such as calling the police as soon as possible. Additionally, this type of novel can have positive influences in the elimination of stigma about people with mental problems because it is common that various killers often suffer from terrible childhood or have psychological problems. If society seeks help to people with mental health problems, the number of criminals will diminish in the future. Although I agree with the view that crime novels and television dramas are one of the great means of entertaining which can bring us lots of benefits but its drawbacks are undeniable, especially for children. There are various violent actions and murder scenes, youngsters are vulnerable and immature so they can easily be influenced and tend to follow these actions. To sum up, I personally believe that people should have to aware of these types of books and movies.