Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages ?

Nowadays, there are numerous platforms available for social networking and to update themselves with the happenings around the world. In my opinion, they should use social sites to connect with different communities around them, but with caution. Further in my essay, I will pen down a few benefits of using social applications, followed by their disadvantages. To begin with, the primary advantage of using social media is eliminating the communication barrier caused due to distance. Moreover, one can update himself with the latest news that has been trending around the world. Also, getting to know different people globally proves beneficial in exchanging knowledge and different thought process, which assists in widening the perspective. For instance, one of the employment-oriented online services helps connect people with similar interests and gives an insight into various skillsets used across the firms. This can bring like-minded groups closer. On the contrary, the over abuse of social platforms can lead to loss of valuable time, which otherwise could have been used for productive work. Furthermore, lately, the cybercrime rate has increased tremendously in the past few years. For example, recently, a woman was robbed by a fake profile who claimed to be a bank official. Since the practice of such platforms does not come with identity verification, which means there are high chances of confronting fake profiles. I believe that the advantages of using social media are more than its disadvantages because it helps exchange knowledge, and the only downside is its uncautious use. In conclusion, if used cautiously, social media can help find like-minded people. Conversely, it can lead to a severe loss of time and money with continuous irrational use.