Many people use social media every day to get in touch with others and news events. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media has become an integral part of the lives of most people, making it convenient for them to connect with others and know the news. This trend brings many benefits, although there are some problems that should be noted. Social media provides a great platform to stay in touch with other people. By viewing others’ Facebook and Twitter, people can keep up to date with the lives of their friends, families and co-workers, whereas before the advent of social media, those who lived in different cities easily lost contact. For business people, social media is a great tool that helps them to find new customers and promote their products.   Social media is also an important source of news, more timely and flexible than traditional forms of media. Those who witness the news event can post it online immediately and readers have easy access to the latest news via their mobile phones. In addition to that, web users can also join the discussion about the news event by making their comments to follow the post. Social media gives readers more opportunities to express their opinions and share their ideas, with a greater degree of participation and interaction. However, the negative effects associated with social media have also drawn people ’s attention. Unlike newspapers and TV, social media does not have rigorous censorship. The result is that, in some cases, the news turns out to be fake after it spreads widely on the web. As for social life, some people have difficulty in face-to-face communication since they get used to online socializing. Their social skills decline rather than improve in real life.   Overall, social media has more advantages than disadvantages, but we should also be aware of its problems and try to address these problems.