It is a good idea that students should take a gap year before going into higher education. How far do you agree with this opinion?

Having a gap year is becoming more and more common among students after high school graduation. Whereas some people are in favor of this choice, others still feel concerned about its impacts. Although there are a couple of certain disadvantages, I strongly believe that such a gap period is beneficial indeed. On the one hand, taking one year off between high school and university may be negative to some extent. Firstly, some students may find it hard to come back to their study. This gap period interrupts the continuity of their academic path, which may lead to their loss of learning habits and skills. Secondly, there are certain dangers facing those who wish to take a break from studying. Because most high school graduates are still young and immature in their way of thinking, they may easily be taken advantage of or unfortunately involved in some social evils. On the other hand, the gap year is positively considered by many people nowadays. To begin with, this period allows adolescents to realize what they really want to do in the future. During this time, they have many chances to try their hands on different kinds of jobs. This is how they can explore themselves and get to know what their passions truly are. Besides, a gap year can also enable young people to enrich their life. For example, when devoting their time to some volunteer work, they are likely to meet many people from different walks of life. For those who decide to spend this period travelling around, their cultural experiences can be greatly built up as well. All in all, having a year off before university is more of a great choice. Although this decision may carry some risks and interrupt students’ education, it actually gives the young generation more valuable time to contemplate their future orientation and broaden their horizons in many ways.