Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, history is one of the most significant subjects in the school curriculum. So people always raise questions about the importance of this. Therefore, some individuals believe that technical subjects, such as science and technology, are far more important than history. Nevertheless, in my opinion, history is equally as important as other subjects and the following paragraphs will explain both stances with examples. To begin with, on the one side, those who believe that the main emphasis of the curriculum should be put on science and technology argue that the importance of this has risen dramatically in the preceding years. Moreover, history plays a significant role of the educational programme, hence the hours spent on this should be reduced to orient education around science. For example, in the Second Reich, the government removed history from its course programme at schools, which resulted in the youth's illiteracy about the past mistakes of their descendants and this ignorance led to the First World War. Thus, it is necessary for the government to give proper education about history. On the other side, most folks think that countries should be obliged to include history as the main subjects at schools. It is well known that a nation without history is destined to demise, due to the inability of the given nation to react appropriately to possible problems without knowledge of the past including scientific achievements. To illustrate this, many developing countries choose the direction of the economy, considering unsuccessful experiences in the past, to enhance their development. In addition, such knowledge would prevent negative outcomes of human civilization. To conclude, both views have the right to exist, However, I strongly believe that history is one of the most important subjects and it should not be debated.