The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

At present, the increasing rise in global population is the greatest problem encountered by human life. The causes of the increasing rise in the global population are the lower rate of birth control and having more than two children. I agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity because the world is struggling to bear this increasing rate of population with its limited resources. The primary cause of the increasing population is the low rate of birth control specially in rural areas of developing countries. People are still not aware of the detrimental effects of population rise. Therefore, they are reluctant to control birth. Moreover, most of the couples are interested in having more than two children, and therefore, the "One Child Policy" has received harsh criticism from many developing countries. For example, in China, when the government passed the "One Child Policy" in 2007, most of the citizens protested against it, and considered it as a violation of human rights. The continued rise in the global population is a threat to humanity, because the resources the world has, are inadequate to serve a large number of the population. Moreover, inhabitants of the world are not aware enough to preserve this limited resource. They are only focusing on the consumption of the resource, instead of the preservation of it. For example, most of the trees of the Amazon forest have been cut down to meet the increasing needs of the population for various purposes. In conclusion, people from developing countries are not conscious of the downsides of population rise, and they are still reluctant to follow the "One Child Policy". The limited resource of the world works as a barrier to meet the increasing needs of the world population.