Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Others believe that it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Is it better to be friends with like-minded people? Many would argue that yes friendship is stronger when people have the same opinion as compared to friends having different views. In my opinion, I would rather have a friend with a different opinion than the one who always thinks alike as this will help both of us to learn from each other and grow as a person. There are arguments on both sides, however, which we will discuss here. On the one hand, a friendship starts when people have something in common. If not, then they cannot connect in the first place. Same reactions, same thoughts help them to understand each other and that is how the bond becomes stronger. Besides, thinking alike assures a long-lasting relationship. For instance, when friends think alike, it becomes easy to make decisions like which movie to watch together, where to go etc. Furthermore, it reduces the number of episodes of fights and arguments. On the other hand, being friends with people having different opinions can also be beneficial. It will help us to see through another point of view that can help us grow stronger. I think it will be boring if we are always surrounded by people who agree with us and then there is no discussion left. How to carry out the conversation then? When we connect with someone having a different mindset, we learn a lot from that person. Like, it will be difficult for a friend with the same thinking to give suggestions when we are stuck between right and wrong, as they will be thinking the same way we are taking things. Additionally, different opinions can lead to fights that can eventually ruin the friendship. All in all, both the statements as discussed above have their own merits and demerits. However, I firmly believe understanding is what matters. Even if friends agree or disagree, nothing should affect the bond.