Young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the age of crime is getting younger and younger, especially teenagers. This raises the question of whether the methods of re-education for juvenile delinquents are an outdated and no longer deterrent. Some argue that the government should impose the same punishment on teenagers as adults. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement. To begin, most young people commit crimes due to impulsiveness and lack of thought. Adolescents are mentally unstable, easily agitated, do not know how to manage emotions and behaviors, which leads to criminal actions. For example, incidents of violence are most often caused by small frictions between friends or participating in theft to express themselves in a word of defiance. In addition, it can be seen that children who commit crimes are children who lack attention from their families. A child may choose the most negative method of seeking parental attention through rebelliousness. Some children believe that their more rebellious actions such as fighting or stealing will attract more attention, and this is more like a cry for help from the child than a criminal act. Therefore, applying punishment such as imprisonment or some other harsher method of punishment will be counterproductive, the fragile nature of the child will be hurt, making the situation worse and lead to more severe consequences and uncontrollable behavior. Moreover, if punishing minors as adults, in the case of a student being bullied by a peer by blaming the theft not only has great consequences for the entire family of the bullied student but also causes inequality in society. However, applying the same fines could reduce the juvenile crime rate immediately. If the punishment is not deterrent enough, it is easy for young people to feel fearless, continue to repeat, and from small mistakes can lead to bigger mistakes such as drug trafficking, kidnapping, murder.. Meanwhile, severe punishment will make children think more carefully before doing and reduce recidivism, making society more stable. But in the end, heavy or light punishment is not as important as self-awareness and self-correction, instead of severely punishing children who commit crimes, they should educate them to understand that.   In conclusion, juvenile criminals should not be punished as adults. The law always has leniency and if acts of impulsiveness at a young age have to be paid with the future, that price is too expensive.