In some companies a typical working week has been reduced from 40 to 30 hours. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Some companies are adopting a policy of 30 hours workweek instead of 40. The advantages to this are that it increases employee retention and lowers work stress. However, the disadvantages are that it lowers productivity and increases costs. One of the important factors for an employee while switching companies is the number of hours required to give. With this reduced hours per week policy, professionals are increasingly choosing to stay in the same company because it provides them with another day off from work. Moreover, this has been welcoming news for all their workforce because it significantly reduces stress caused by work pressure. One extra day added to the weekly holidays gives them enough time to recharge their batteries and come back to work with a fresh mindset. For example, we often receive news from Japan that more people are now dying of heart attacks while working because of long hours. But, such companies ' average productivity sinks as well. Individuals are now pushing their tasks to the coming week because their weekly deadlines are not achievable anymore. As a result, an assignment which could have been done in a week's time is now being kept for the upcoming week because of fewer official days in a week. Additionally, revenue is also sinking while the costs remain the same. Hence, weekly profits are also going down, creating a huge strain on the company's financials. For instance, in recent years, more companies have shifted their headquarters from the Netherlands to a different place because of its policy of a 29-hour work week. In conclusion, companies that are introducing a policy of 30 man hours in seven days will cherish better employee retention and satisfaction but might see low productivity and a toll on capital inflow.