Some countries invest in specialized sports facilities for top athletes but not for the average person. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Undoubtedly, lack of education and employment opportunities are two of the primary causes behind the alarmingly increasing crime rates. Therefore, some people believe that merely educating criminals can discourage them from committing further crimes once they are out of prison. In my opinion, I believe it is true, and I agree with this view. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will be explaining my views. As they say, nobody is a born criminal. Most of the time, people become victims of their situations, turning toward this wrong path. In fact, most of the people have poor strata as their backgrounds; hence, they don’t get to have proper education. This results in lesser employment opportunities as well. Eventually, many of them turn into gangsters or thieves. In contrast, such criminal tendencies can be seen lower in those who are educated. Educating convicted criminals in prison will certainly not erase their shoddy past. However, it improves their chances of finding employment once they get released. One of the biggest problems that ex-prisoners face is the lack of rehabilitation opportunities. Society prefers to keep them at arm’s length, and as such, they have fewer opportunities for making a living once they complete their sentence. Unfortunately, this increases their chances of getting into crime again. Education may change the situation for good. If prisoners receive an opportunity to learn and acquire vocational or academic degrees from prison, they are more likely to find employment upon their release. When they have a secure job and a means of living, most people will not want to get into crime again. However, in a way, it might also be true that mentality plays an essential role in the behaviour of a person; education is one such thing that leaves a significant impression behind. To conclude, education improves a person’s employability. Just because someone is a prisoner, it does not mean that they cannot learn or acquire degrees. In fact, educating prisoners is one of the best things we can do for their rehabilitation and successful induction into society.