In a number of countries, some people think it is a necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is believed that large amount of money should be spent on construction of new railway lines. However, there are those who are sure that this money is needed to be spent on improving the existing transport. To my personal opinion, everything depends on the size of the country. To be precise, large countries indeed should invest in connection between the cities to reduce the time spent on travelling. However, smaller countries cound develop what they already have. Large countries, such as the Russian Federadion or the USA, should provide decent investment into development of the transport system between the regions within their borders. To provide a good example, travelling between the Moscow region and Khabarovsk can take many hours travelling even by plane, not mentioning going by train, which easily takes days. Nowadays, when there are lot of people who commute on regular basis and are ready to pay for quicker means of travelling, it is really reasonable to pay attention to the modern means of transport, which can provide an opportunity for faster travelling. However, it should be also mentioned that there are countries of a smaller size which probably do not need the same fast facilities for travellers. For instance, Belgium is quit a small country in comparison with the neighbouring France or Germany. For such countries as Belgium, it can probably be more interesting to invest into the existing transport network making it more comfortable and pleasant for people to travel both within the cities and the country and going to the countries they share the border with. In conclusion, I would like to say that financial investment fully depends on the size of the country and the needs of the citizens.