Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a difference. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that only governments and large companies could make progress in improving the environment. Therefore, citizens' contributions are meaningless. I completely disagree with that idea. On the one hand, the contribution of big business and the authority bodies are one of the key factors in enhancing the quality of the environment. Firstly, when the large companies could make a profit, which they could pay more tax, the governments could invest in new technology to mitigate environmental issues such as alternative energy, namely wind or solar. Secondly, pollution is a global concern, which brings about a myriad of conferences about the environment. National bodies attending would propose more effective methods to make the environment better. An illustration is in the climate change conference in 2015, an argument was about all countries attending need to reduce carbon emission was committed. This led to a significant change in the progress to prevent climate change. On the other hand, everybody could also contribute to protect the environment on their own. The taxes which the government received every year partly came from the income of ordinary people, which also contributed to the ability of adopting the new technology to protect the environment. Moreover, ordinary people could minimize the damage to habitats by doing trivial things such as littering properly, reducing the amount of plastic in their lives, and using water and electricity economically. For example, in Vietnam, environmental organizations established by high school students cleared all the trash along the coast of the country, which saved a number of marine creatures and also raised the awareness of the residents about protecting the environment. In conclusion, it is irrefutable that the importance of influential firms and governments in the process of protecting the environment is growing. I believe that individuals could contribute to that process.