In some countries the difference in age between parents and children nowadays is greater than in the past, is this a positive or negative development.

In this generation, people are becoming more self-aware and as such, they want to figure out their lives first and understand themselves before venturing into raising a child. As a result, the childbearing age is increased. I believe this is predominantly of advantage. Firstly, the major importance of the increased generational gap is financial stability. This is the ability to financially cater to the need of a child and this is mostly possible when both parents have figured out their career which in most cases allows them to earn more. For instance, research has shown that as opposed to older parents most young parents struggle to provide for their wards as they are mostly uneducated and work menial jobs which equal minimal paychecks. To this end, a child may suffer due to poverty. Furthermore, people who choose to have children later in their late twenties and early thirties are more mature. For instance, maturity increases with experience hence, wider generational gaps allows the parents of this generation to acquire more social, physical, emotional and intellectual maturity. This is good for the children as it enables them to become well-rounded individuals. In all these parents raise independent and matured wards. To conclude, the increase in the age gap between children and their parents may continue in most countries because of its benefits. I think it is a primarily positive development as these parents are more mature and are able to support their families better, financially. As such, raising more mature offspring with greater opportunities in life.