Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some argue that the onus is on parents to teach children how to be good members of the community, others maintain that this is the function of schools. Both sides of this argument are sensible and I am of the firm belief that both have an equal and significant part to play. Some consider that parents are responsible for developing their offspring’s personality traits, so that they know how to behave in society when they grow up. As children grow up, parents shoulder the responsibility of taking care of them and teaching them skills such as toilet training or eating with a knife and fork. Children regard their parents as role models, to whom they look up and from whom they learn. Therefore, it is reasonable to expect parents to introduce, for example, table manners, social etiquette and their roles in society to them. Contrary to the above, it is argued that schools should be responsible for preparing students to be helpful members of society. This is based on the premise that schools are an agent of social control, hence they play a vital part in instilling norms and values which are important in both adulthood and the workplace. Schools help children to socialise and learn simultaneously. In some parts of Southeast Asia, children in primary schools are required to participate in at least one team sport, helping them to develop teamwork and communication skills. Furthermore, formal education also helps to teach youngsters aspects of the 'hidden curriculum' including showing respect for authority, timekeeping and obeying school rules. In conclusion, I strongly believe that an equal role has to be played with regards to educating children. After all, children spend the majority of their day in the company of their families, hence it is only right that they play a key part in the less formal aspects of their child's education and upbringing.