Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at school and at home. To what extent you agree or disagree?

It is true that some television programmes have been recognised as an effective method of learning, because the audio-visual information can attract students’ attention and engage their interest. While I understand the educational value of watching TV, I do not agree that increasing screen time is a good idea. There are three main reasons why I argue against that viewing more television programmes can help children learn more effectively. Firstly, too much screen time can interfere with children’s study, and they may not be able to concentrate on school curriculums, a problem which can lead to poor grades. Secondly, children also do not have spare time to participate in practical activities that enhance hands-on abilities, such as planting, painting and carving.These activities can promote brain development, which will further boost the effectiveness of learning. Finally, pupils may spend several hours to sit in front of a television every day, and they are not willing to play games and do sports with peers; as a result, they may suffer obesity, bad eyesight or fatigue.Because of this, they do not have enough energy to cope with demands of schooling and lose self-confidence over time. On the other hand, although I acknowledge that some informative television programmes may have positive influences on children’s study, this information can only be the complementary that they have learned at school. he main advantage of television programmes is that children are exposed to a world of knowledge. However, sometime the knowledge is too complex for children to understand, and it cannot meet children’s demands at different age range. For example, a foreign language channel can help teenagers improve foreign language abilities slightly, but it is too difficult for young kids who are without any foundation of foreign languages to understand it. Therefore, it is a waste of time for those young kids to watch it. I believe that students should spend most of their time on school courses, because those courses are more scientific and systematic, which can lead them to progress gradually and to learn effectively. To sum up, I would argue that extensive screen time will have an adverse impact on children’s academic performance and children’s health; therefore, parents and teachers should impose restrictions on children’s television viewing, rather than endorse this habit.