In some countries, people waste a lot of food that they buy in shops and restaurants. Why do people waste food? What can we do to reduce the waste?

These days, we have enough condition to serve ourselves a meal and provide nutrition for our body to stay healthy. However, the wealthier we are, the more waste we produce, especially food. First of all, why do people waste food? Personally, I think there are 3 main reasons for this. Firstly, when a person is rich, they tend to buy and consume more to brag with everyone about their asset. Moreover, they are gonna get everything unique and special without knowing that they won’t use it ever again. Secondly, many countries are affected by religion, cultural which change their perspective. For instance, In Vietnam, It is believed that your hospitality will be measured by how much food you treat them. Therefore, when the fun come to end, all the food left behind will be reuse but the majority of them will go to trash. Lastly, as per the study, our humanity started in the wild when we climbed tree to hide, kill to survive and lived in cave. Thus, biologically, we tend to hoard as much food as we can to survive like many other animals, and it might still be in our genes so far.