In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The government have had no choice but to cater to their ageing population by placing them in homes where there are others like them with people to look after them. Should the government continue to provide care for their aged populations or should families take care of their old ones? This essay supports that the government should provide care for its old citizens with the support of their families. This essay will discuss, how families can support the government in providing care for their ageing families. Firstly, families can help the government in providing care for their old ones by contributing to a fund created by the government for each family. For instance, a compulsory donation that ensures that every family contributes to the fund every month and at a certain age where their ageing families can not take care of themselves, such fund should be used. Secondly, the government can increase the taxes of every individual while they are still able to work and take care of those who paid their taxes and leave those who failed to pay their taxes to fend for themselves when they are incapable of taking care of themselves. For example, back in my home country this system was implemented and helped the government provide care when needed. In conclusion, the government and its citizens should work together to help provide care for aged persons in each household. This will allow the government to allocate funds to other important sectors that need help.