With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital materials rather than constantly textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

It has always been a heated debate that the growth of digitalized media can affect the key role of libraries for university students or it is impossible to replace textbooks and their merits and demerits. I personally believe both of them play a crucial role in academic studies, although online books and materials significance cannot be overlooked. On the one hand, digitalizing the materials is an inevitable alternative that is taking the place of old sources. In other words, having access to mass media can broaden your knowledge and universities have opted to offer their physical materials on their newly established websites, because they take smaller space and enable students to carry out their studies online. For example, if one requires to look for reference materials, it would be much easier to browse through online e- books by clicking on the computer rather than the effects of media which have become obsolete. On the other hand, textbooks are bound to disappear in the near future since they are not environmentally friendly and they are destroying the environment particularly trees. To clarify, producing such books consumes numerous trees and demolishes nature which can lead to global warming. As a result, visiting libraries in order to find paperback books will give way to digital media that can be accessed online at universities. Consequently, everybody tends to save trees and books by doing academic research on the internet to benefit from modern libraries. On the whole, reading textbooks instead of modern digital media will vanish in the future which means people would prefer to preserve the environment rather than going to universities to find suitable material for their thesis.