The society is based on rules and laws. The society would not function well if individuals were free to do whatever they want. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that laws play an important role in regulating our behaviour. From my perspective, the main function of regulation is to maintain the order of a country through regulating people’s behaviour. Therefore, I completely agree that a country cannot function well without regulations. It is obvious that all actions have consequences; hence, rules can help individuals to avoid misbehaviours and minimise bad consequences on the public. For instance, the government control or punish misbehaviours through laws, which can protect public benefits as well as deter criminals from committing crimes continuously. This means that people can enjoy their lives in a peaceful, closely-knit world, where they follow social rules and behave in a socially responsible way. By contrast, people may do not have a sense of security when they live in a lawless nation, which can have an adverse impact on the development of the nation. More specifically, If there are no regulations to restrict misbehaviour, people are easily motivated by self-interest to do something that would be harmful to others. As a result, the whole country is unsafe and disordered, which can further lead to low productivity and a sluggish economy. For example, if traffic regulations are dismissed by the masses, traffic accidents will increase dramatically, which can even cost people’s lives. Furthermore, this kind of breakdown of the transportation system will also prevent us from building an advanced society. To sum up, I strongly believe that it is essential for everybody in the world to obey the rules, and our society cannot operate well without laws and social norms.