In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems due to eating too much unhealthy food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The number of people, who have different diseases, caused by eating fast foods, is increasing day today. In my perspective, the introduction of an excise duty could increase the final prices of these foods, which may reduce consumption of them. The price rate and the consumption rate – are two inversely proportional figures. If the first indication is increasing, the second one is decreasing. Hence rising tax rates could be an effective measure, which may restrict the further spread of this bad trend. According to some research, individuals prefer junk foods due to their prices, not because of their flavour characteristics, as it is known, these foods are cheaper than their healthier analogies. And, by the introduction of an excise tax, prices of that two types of foods, healthy and unhealthy, might become equal. If fat foods became more expensive, individuals’ preferences would be changed. For instance, according to the statistic, in countries, which already have adopted this tax regime, junk foods consumption is reduced by more than half. Should be considered, that increasing taxes could cause some negative consequences. First and foremost, small businesses would be suffered. Furthermore, the unemployment rate could be increased. However, with government support, all these mentioned issues could be solved. In order to escape these bad consequences, the authorities should take other actions alongside changing tax rates, like organizing sports events, developing leisure sporting activities for citizens. These steps, also, could contribute to creating new jobs opportunities. In addition, propaganda healthy lifestyle, rising education level, and, changing eating culture among civilians, could have a positive impact on individuals’ health conditions. In conclusion, increasing the tax rate or the introduction of the excise tax, despite some insignificant consequences, could bring a positive result and improve the above-mentioned negative trend. In my opinion, it is not a single stage, which could help to solve this problem, but, it is the main one.