Passage 3 In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message ?

Children are often advised differently, according to their traditions, on the ways to work hard in order to accomplish tasks. This would encourage them to focus on the task without any distractions even if they deviate from the track sometimes. While reminding children to work hard might motivate them, but constantly doing so will certainly have some drawbacks. These days youngsters have become very impatient and the moment they face failure in the process of achieving something they instantly give up. Reminding them to try harder will give them a positive push resulting in their success. For example, few children who aim to learn swimming get scared with the depth of water and show reluctance to even get into the pool. Unless we drive them to show commitment they will not even make enough trials. So, persuading children to firmly try whenever they struggle would help them emerge victoriously. On the other hand, few people believe, continuously forcing young adults to keep giving their hundred per cent in everything will result in stressing them out which will impact their physical as well as mental health. For instance, in Japan, people are trained right from their birth to do hard work due to which many adults suffered heart attacks out of stress when they reached their early twenties. Additionally, children might feel inferior and doubt their capabilities if they don't succeed despite making all efforts. In conclusion, while there are plus points in advising children to try hard enough to succeed in any task, concentration should be towards encouraging their abilities and to teach them to function smartly.