Many manufactured food and drinks products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The main ingredient in processed foods and drinks is sugar. It is also considered the cause of many health problems. In my opinion, raising the price of such products can lead to fewer people consuming sugar, and this essay will further why. To commence with, making those food items more expensive would directly lead to fewer people buying them. Instead, they would opt for healthier alternatives, such as fruit or oat bars instead of sweets and nectars instead of soft drinks. People would think twice before spending a huge amount of money on them. Furthermore, if fewer customers are interested in those products, shops would offer less of them, as they always consider how much they can profit when supplying with a certain item. Whole brands of manufactured foods and drinks may be stopped from some stores completely, which would ultimately lead to fewer purchases of them and a lowered consumption of sugar. This practice can also have an effect on the public mindset. If prices of processed foods are raised, people would try to find reasons why that is. As a consequence, they would educate themselves on the health problems caused by sugar and raise their awareness about how to have a healthy lifestyle. Certain countries, such as Britain, have adopted this practice and they report decreased levels of sugar consumption. The individuals would generally be motivated to try leading healthier lives if they cannot afford manufactured food products and would think more about what they put into their bodies. To summarise, I believe that making sugary food items more expensive would lead not only to a smaller number of people consuming them, but to a generally healthier population. People would further their knowledge about a healthy lifestyle as they search for alternatives to their favourite desserts and drinks.