Many people believe that social networking sites (such as facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. to what extend do you agree?

It is considered by many that social networking sites, for instance Facebook, have had a detrimental effect on people and local communities. I believe that social networking sites are useful for individuals, but for society, it is not a very effective platform. On one side, through social networking sites, such as Facebook, it is now possible for people around the world to get connected with each other using this digital platform. Without travelling to the other part of the world, we can easily communicate with the people we want to. Moreover, we can join different groups or communities in which we are interested, and we can share our ideas or thoughts, for instance, I have joined a home interior decorations group to get more ideas about how to design our home. As an individual, if you are looking for any help, you can ask in that particular group and will find the number of suggestions for your problems. On the other side, some people get addicted to the use of Facebook and spend most of their time in this. Additionally, they do not want to participate or are less interested in their local group activities. In this way, there is a lack of emotional and friendly attachment among the people. Furthermore, face to face communication is much more effective than digital communication, so for society, it is not a good thing. In conclusion, social networking sites has it's benefits for individuals but for society, it is not good as people are busy knowing strangers or other things and are less interested to meet people face to face.