Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

he majority of governments force male youngsters to serve in the military following high school education. Some people believe this should be implemented globally, with the addition of females. Although serving in the army provides the population with benefits such as the satisfaction of serving for the country and improved health, making it compulsory may deter youngsters from showing interest. Serving in the military has the main advantage of improved fitness and a feeling of belonging to one's country. For example, when men fight to protect their country, they will experience immense power and responsibility, hence they continue to work harder to be part of history. Additionally, regular physical training, a strict diet and scheduled sleep patterns promote good health. Making young people serve in the army therefore improves community spirit and the health of the population. On the other hand, when something is made compulsory and forced, people naturally sway away from showing interest and begin to analyse the disadvantages. As a result, not everyone will dedicate themselves fully to serving. They may become distracted during training and concentrate on escaping. Moreover, if everyone joins the military following high school, countries will begin to lack progress in other fields such as science, business and fashion. Therefore, I believe youngsters should be approached and only asked to join if they wish, it is also wise to extend this choice to females. To conclude, serving for the country is a respectful and rewarding career. It is my opinion that if it remains a choice for the public to join the army, there will be more members who are committed and dedicated.