In Britain, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the Government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, government or family? Give reasons for you answer and include any relevant examples for your own knowledge or experience.

Living in a nursing home is very common for the elderly in Britain. This essay will discuss if the Government should pay for this care or if the family should be responsible for this expense. When someone in a family gets old there is always a doubt about who is going to take care of them. Firstly, the family should analyse if the elderly need medical treatment or special care. Secondly, they need to think if it is better for a family member to be responsible for the elderly or if it would be better to go live in a home with other old people, being taken care of by a nurse. Finally, if the best decision is the nursing home, the family needs to make sure they have the money to cover all the expenses. However, that is not always the case. On the other hand, the Government should provide help for those families. Moreover, the elderlies contributed their whole lives to the country, such as working and paying taxes. Therefore, a solution could be if the Government had a program especially for older people and nursing homes, which would make this care more accessible for those who cannot afford. For example, if the population paid a small amount monthly with the specific goal to have the nursing home garanteed for them in the future. In conclusion, sometimes families do not have enough money to pay for nursing homes and my opinion is that the Government should cover these expenses as a way to thank them for all their contributions over the years.