Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many people believe that economic development means global warming and other alarming environmental problems, while some would argue that it is the only solution to put an end to hunger and poverty around the world. In this essay, I am going to discuss both views and explain why I do not think we should stop fostering the economy. On the one hand, it is undeniable that environmental degradation is mainly the result of economic growth. Firstly, with the ever-increasing number of industries, factories, and businesses, the number of greenhouse gases released into the environment is rising rapidly. That is the driving factor behind climate change and ozone layer depletion which cause irreparable damage to the environment. Secondly, since forests are being cut down to meet agricultural demands, thousands of species have lost their natural habitats, which pushes them closer to the verge of extinction. Because we are disturbing the ecological balance, we have to suffer from serious floods, and animal extinction. On the other hand, economic development plays an important role in alleviating hunger and lifting people out of poverty. When the economy of a country is thriving, there will be a large number of job opportunities available to help reduce the unemployment rate and a lot of people can earn a good amount of income to support their families. Thanks to that, many have succeeded in escaping poverty. In addition, a prosperous country means that the government can spend more of the national budget on eradicating hunger, by providing foods, other necessities, and education to those in need. In conclusion, it is understandable why many people want economic development to stop to protect our environment. However, the numerous benefits that this growth brings to us are more significant than its drawbacks.