In Britain, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the elderly age, many people move to a nursing home where other old people live, and the government finances some of this care. From my point of view, who should fund these institutions depends exclusively on the social economic socioeconomic condition of the person in need, in which governments should pay for the care of poor people. Firstly, most retirement homes provide diversified support for the elderly because they need specific care, including nurses, physiotherapists, doctors, and other professional care which can be expensive, resulting in the majority of these institutions having high living costs. For this reason, I believe wealthy families should pay for these because they have the money to save and finance these types of care for their relatives. For instance, in many developing countries, people have been saving money since adulthood in order to be able to afford better retirement homes in the future. Furthermore, poor families need assistance from the state because most of them work a lot and can not take care of or finance financially support their older relatives, leading to a massive percentage of negligence to significant negligence toward elderly people in this economic class. Consequently, in these cases, I believe the government must pay for it, creating policies in which the person in need must meet certain criteria to be entitled to this care, and which families must visit their elderly relative. In Brazil, for example, everyone has to pay a National Insurance, however, most Brazilians receive a minimum wage pension, resulting in being unable to afford the costs of a nursing home and consequently having to be cared for by other relatives. To conclude, I believe that the government should pay for the care of the vulnerable economic class, which can not afford the expensive care of nursing homes, and consequently, wealthy families should pay for their care because they can afford it.