Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that virtual business meetings, discussions, and training have gained more popularity in recent years. While there is no doubt that this trend has many cons, the pros of it are worth mentioning. On the one hand, many people are not in favor of holding meetings and training online due to their disadvantages. Firstly, an important meeting or discussion can be disrupted due to technical limitations, which easily leads to misunderstandings or puts a company at risk of losing a contract. If the internet connection is not stable or the video conferencing program suddenly crashes, one will lose track of the meetings and what others are discussing about, therefore, find it very frustrating. Secondly, the lack of in-person interaction may reduce the efficiency levels of business meetings or training sections. For example, a webinar's participants can make up excuses and turn off their cameras to engage in other activities or let themselves be distracted by other technological gadgets. As a result, it is understandable why many people would think that a virtual meeting pales in comparison with a face-to-face one. On the other hand, the upside is overshadowed by the downside. The first explanation lies in the fact that the widespread use of video conferencing platforms helps people to save time and money without geographical boundaries and time constraints. This means that you do not need to drive for hours when you can enjoy the comfort of your room while attending your company’s annual meeting via Zoom. In addition, it is safer for people to lower the risk of getting infectious diseases, such ad Covid-19 if they join in meetings or discussions conducted online. In fact, the number of online platforms nowadays has increased considerably, with features that can help people have an effective discussion while staying safe. In conclusion, while virtual communication is not without disadvantages, I would contend that the advantages are much more significant.