Many believe that it is important to protect all wild animals, while others think that it is important to protect some, not all of them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some have suggested that the protection of wild animals should be selective. In my opinion, humanity has responsibility for all wild animals, though it is occasionally justified to divert resources towards more valuable species. Those in favour of safeguarding certain wild animals argue the circumstantial factors. These factors can range from the threat the specific animals face to the value of the animal itself. For instance, tigers are an endangered wild animal and require intensive conservation efforts compared with animals such as rats and pigeons, which have adapted skillfully to urban environments. Most would admit that there is little logic in providing equal support to species in different circumstances. A more extreme critic could add that some animals are more deserving of preservation. The tiger, to continue the previous example, is greatly valued for its elegance. Other creatures, such as bees, are valuable not for their beauty but their usefulness to humanity. However, all animals should be protected as humanity has been the catalyst for their endangerment. Before the rapid industrialization and surging populations of the last several hundred years, humans and animals lived on relatively equal terms and shared the Earth. Since human development has outpaced nature and now threatens the habitats of countless species, it is a duty for mankind to enact safeguards for all creatures. Without such forward-looking protections, there is likely to be a “domino effect” as species die out and impair fragile ecosystems globally. Therefore even if an animal is not on the verge of extinction, it might be important to maintain its population levels so as to not start a cycle of irreversible harm. In conclusion, humans should endeavour to protect as many animals as possible although there are exceptional cases where some species may be prioritized. Governments and individuals should collaborate to ensure wild animals are not unduly threatened by human progress.