Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisement ? What measures can be taken to protect them ?

Along with the development of technology, people have faced different types of advertisements in their daily life. It is obvious that some adverts could have an impact on buyers which help in raising the rate of sales. This essay will be discussed the ways that could affect consumers by the power of ads, and in what ways they should be stopped. In today’s competitive world, every brand tries to introduce its products in the best ways in order to increase sales. Companies could use the power of social media where thousands of people spend hours browsing the internet. People could be aware of the latest promotions and sales, and they can easily order what they want by clicking a button. Celebrities and influencers, also, are considered as an important part of introducing products since people show a great tendency to follow their steps. For example, high-rise pants are started to be popular again when some famous people wore those pants. From a psychological perspective, people could feel invaluable when they could not afford to buy products that are seen in commercials. Besides negative effects on people, advertisements could promote consumerism and damage the environment. Taking into account this issue, governments should endeavour to reduce the negative impacts of adverts by raising public awareness. If people know that adverts goal is gaining benefits for companies rather than introducing products, they never trust these ads. Furthermore, governments could put strict rules in advertising merchandise in order to prohibit companies from releasing unreal information. To put it in a nutshell, with respect to the whole views mentioned above, advertisements have its own merits and demerits. In order to protect people from fake items and save our environment, governments should take drastic measures.