Many people are moving from rural areas to big cities, why has this happened? To what extend do you think it is a good trend?

It is true that many countries have experienced a significant movement of population to urban areas. There are various factors behind this trend, but I believe it can lead to a challenge on the whole social development. It seems to be two main reasons why those people have made this decision. Firstly, cities are densely populated and there are more job opportunities available, so migrants may earn more money. This means that they can afford more customer goods and improve living standards. In contrast,employment opportunities are scarce in the countryside, due to the fact that many industries are under development and the inhabitants' buying power is limited. Secondly, city dwellers have easy access to public services, such as healthcare and education; hence, they can enjoy a better quality of life. For example, young couples who used to live in the countryside intend to send their children to good schools in metros, so as to break the cycle of poverty. From my perspective, the rural-to-urban shift may put an adverse impact on the development of cities and rural areas. To begin with, the increased number of urban dwellers will bring huge pressure on housing and transportation in cities. More specifically, some cities are unable to accommodate large populations due to the shortage of land; therefore, traffic congestion and the highest housing prices will be the problems. Moreover, since young people who are ambitious, energetic and creative prefer to go to the metro, the rural communities will be lack of labour force. Because of this, the rural-urban income disparity will grow, and the rural economics will be more sluggish. To sum up, more employment opportunities and better public services are the main factors that attract people to migrate to cities. In my view, it will be a worrying trend.