Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Life in foreign countries can be a struggle for immigrants who have to speak a new language. I agree with this view, as these individuals may earn less and become rather isolated. The disparity in proficiency in language makes it harder for people to socialise when they have a weaker grasp of a language. For example, in some cultures such as Spain, football is extremely important to the society, so the newcomers to the country who are less familiar with the common chants and specific terminology may be impacted by the inability to integrate into this aspect of the community. As a result, the immigrants become further distanced from their locality and can suffer negative mental health effects which can lead to an unhappy life. Another reason why speaking in a non-native tongue can affect people badly is because they will be favoured less in the job market. This is due to the preference job posts place on workers who are able to communicate freely with their peers, and the employers also benefit by having to train the recruits less. For instance, a doctor in a hospital is judged by their ability to convey information to a patient; therefore, those who are restricted in this aspect may not be able to seek promotions or get employed at the highest levels. In conclusion, people become less accepted by society and struggle in employment if they find themselves forced to speak a foreign tongue. Thus, I believe these problems will affect those who live in countries that do not speak in a similar way to them.